The Sundance Experience By: Kristina Slavich

Looking back at the festival, it’s sort of crazy to think that I saw so many films in such a short amount of time. But I am so glad that I was able to have this experience. There were so many films that I really enjoyed watching and truly was amazed by the acting and cinematography. It was one of the coolest experiences and I am so glad I was able to take this class.

One of the films that I had really wanted to see throughout the festival was Me, Earl, And the Dying Girl. I had heard such great things about the film and was anxious to see if I could try and get a ticket. After a few failed waitlist attempts, I was really excited to learn that the film won in the US Dramatic competition and would therefore be screening on Saturday night. Megan, Devin, and I arrived early, excited that this was the film that had won. Not to my surprise, Me, Earl, And the Dying Girl was nothing short of incredible. The movie was about a high school boy who by the request of his mom, befriends a fellow classmate with leukemia. A friendship between the two quickly develops and they become inseparable. The touching story looks at a high schooler’s perspective on life and the meaning of friendship. The cast was great and the film itself was quite funny at times but also really moving. In addition, the storyline was executed flawlessly with the audience laughing at every joke and crying at the pivotal moments. It was the last film that I saw at the festival and was definitely my favorite as well. I feel so grateful that I was able to attend the festival and definitely want to try and go back sometime in the future.photo 1 photo 2

Leave a Reply

