And That’s A Wrap! by Morgan Pigman

Thursday, January 29th, 2015–

Saw three movies again today!  Tangerine was first at 11:30 am.  My favorite aspects of the movie were how real and raw the movie was, not to mention I felt like strutting to the music and walking with them where ever they were in LA.  It was about transgender prostitutes working in an area of Hollywood I am not familiar with, the less pretty parts of Hollywood. What most impressed me with the film was that the camera used to shoot Tangerine was the iPhone 5S!  How crazy is that?!  I met the executive producer on the bus on the way to waitlist for a movie later that night and he gave me his business card.  I look forward to emailing him and asking him a few questions.  He was really excited that I wanted to talk to him about the film and was super passionate about his work.

IMG_3632

Next up was Chorus at 2:30 pm.  I definitely called it close between getting from one movie to the next.  I made it with a few minutes to spare!  Chorus was upsetting because it was about a family that was torn apart after their child was abducted. The mother stayed in Canada and the father moved to Mexico.  Ten years later, the couple finally was able to have closure because their son’s body was found and a man made a confession while in jail.  Throughout their time back together when they were preparing the ceremony and burying their child, you could tell they still loved each other.  I was really hoping they would end up together as the movie progressed.  Don’t worry, I won’t ruin anything…

Later on in the evening, I saw the Royal Road at the Holiday Village Cinemas with Sophia and Spencer.  It was directly across the street from our condos which was very convenient.  To be honest, that was the least interesting movie I have ever seen.  People seemed to be dropping like flies in terms of leaving while the movie was still playing.  It made me feel bad for whoever made the film because I know how hard they must have worked on it.  I can say on a positive note that the very beginning was bright, colorful, and fun.

Friday, January 30th, 2015–

Woke up early to waitlist for Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl at 8:30 am.  Tyler and I had waitlist numbers 1 & 2 (which we were VERY proud of) and still didn’t manage to get tickets.  I was totally bummed out because that was a movie on my list of movies I really wanted to see.  Took a little adventure to find amazing breakfast burritos at Albertos!  Highly recommend trying those if you find yourself near Prosepector Square.

IMG_3643-1

Got to see Unexpected at 12:15 pm today!  I adored this movie and have to say it was one of my favorites as well.  This is another one that I don’t want to talk too much about just because I want other people to see it.  I will say that How I Met Your Mother’s star Cobie Smulders was fantastic.  The humor made the entire theater laugh.  It was a reminder that sometimes life doesn’t go as planned but it’s all up to you on how you handle the situation or cards you’ve been dealt with.  It was about real people experiencing real, everyday things.  Two different women worked together through the challenges of unplanned pregnancies, one a teacher, the other a student.  It felt so real that it almost felt like a documentary.  I was able to totally identify with characters and had fun watching it.

la-et-mn-sundance-2015-cobie-smulders-pregnant-onscreen-off-in-unexpected-20150124

I got to meet one of my friends that I studied abroad with on Semester at Sea this past summer for dinner.  It was so lovely being able to see a friendly and familiar face while being here in Utah.  I’m so lucky that she took the time to drive to Park City from Salt Lake City to come see me and spend some quality time together.  The last movie of the evening was at 11:45 pm.  A larger group of us all went together to see It Follows.  In a nut shell, it was a scary movie about this demon that is passed from person to person through sex and it follows that person around trying to kill him or her.  If it succeeds then the demon comes back to the person that gave it to that person.  Somehow I didn’t have difficulty going to bed that night.  Never the less, it was suspenseful and thrilling.  Definitely felt adrenaline pumping through my veins and I screamed quite a few times in the movie.  It was a fun movie to see with friends.  Walking back was a little spooky but it was also pretty because it was snowing.  I’m really happy we were able to experience it snowing while we were here.

IMG_3664

Saturday, January 31st, 2015–

My last documentary of Sundance was 3 1/2 minutes.  I found the story to be very profound and moving.  I really did not recall much of this trial back in 2012.  It was about a white man that shot a black teenage boy over loud music.  What I enjoyed most about it was the opening and closing statements of both the prosecution and defense.  It’s amazing how much a story can be twisted and turned depending upon who is telling the story.  I was debating on not going to see it because I was almost “movied out” but I’m really happy I got my butt out of bed to see it.  Overall, I felt that the defendant got what he deserved and that’s that.

After the movie, I went home and got my stuff together and packed.  I then headed to Main Street with Grace to do some last minute shopping.  To our dismay, we didn’t find anything we really wanted.  We headed to Squatters to meet Jennifer, Kate, Alycia, Desiree, and Adriana for dinner.  [SQUATTER 4 LIFE] We loved that place and wish there was one in the Bay area.  The artichoke dip is delicious and the taco salad was amazing.  As soon as we got back to the condos, we checked the Award Ceremony that was being streamed on youtube.

YES!!! Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl won the Grand Prize dramatic and we had tickets to see it!  We grabbed our things and hustled buns to the bus stop..only to all dog pile into a taxi.  We got there within minutes and waited in line, shivering.  Luckily we didn’t have to wait in line very long and we were inside Eccles!

FullSizeRender-3

There is a reason Fox search light bought this movie for a record breaking 12 million dollars.  Every character in the movie was richly detailed.  The movie showed a new way of looking and dealing with cancer.  Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner.  If there is anything you take from reading this, go see this movie.  I can’t emphasize enough how much I liked it.  Please and thank you!

Sunday, February 1st, 2015–

And That’s A Wrap, Time to go home!  Reflecting on my time here just makes me happy.  I loved my experience at Sundance and am hopeful of returning next year with my mom and maybe even some friends.  I don’t think I could have had as good of an experience without SMC and the help of Virginia.  I’ll end with some tips and favorites:

Favorite place to eat:   Squatters near the Yarrow

Favorite Coffee/Tea/Hot Chocolate spot:   Java Cow on main street

Favorite Lounge:   HP Lounge

Favorite Movies:

  1. Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl
  2. Brooklyn
  3. Unexpected

Favorite Venues

  1. Eccles
  2. The Egyptian

IMG_3584-1

What I wish I did:

  1. Take a picture with Jason Segel
  2. Build a Snowman
  3. Take advantage of the slopes & ski

FullSizeRender-4

Advice:   Go to at least one panel, don’t be afraid to ask a question at a Q&A, keep a refillable water bottle and chapstick with you at all times, it’s important to have cash on you, keep your head and toes warm

Don’t be afraid to:   Approach and talk to people, you never know what could happen!

What I’m going to miss:   my classmates, the ability to ask questions of people who invested significant time in their work, the laughter & intensity of the audience

Ideas:   look into the possibility of volunteering, don’t forget to pack a portable phone charger, take more photos!

Goals for next year:   get into a “list only” event, see 20+ movies

Until next time, Sundance!

IMG_3646

Leave a Reply

