Sundance, Out.

The last days of Sundance were absolutely insane. I viewed some of my favorite movies in the last five days, The Stanford Prison Experiment, Nasty Baby, and Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl. I saw many movies in these last five days, but these are the ones that stood out the most to me and I wanted to highlight them.

The Stanford Prison Experiment was a midnight showing that I went to with Jen and Desiree. The atmosphere in the theatre was different because it was late at night and tired energy was buzzing throughout the room. There were so many tired people in the theatre that even the man behind me fell asleep at the start of the film and started snoring extremely loudly so that the whole theatre could hear him. This was the fifth movie that I had seen that day so I was extremely tired, but this movie was so worth it and kept my attention the entire time. I really hope that this movie is released because it touches on a subject that is still relevant today even though the experiment was done many years ago. The most exciting part however, at least for Jen and Desiree, was that James Franco was at this midnight screening and we saw him five feet away from us as he exited the theatre.

My favorite film at Sundance was Nasty Baby. This was a film starring Kristen Wiig. I enjoyed this movie because it was a comedy with a tragic ending. I do not like comedies, but this film was a comedy that twisted into a dark tragedy. This was amazing because it was not expected at all until the very end when suddenly the audience knew something terrible would happen, but we were already too invested in the film not to watch it unfold. This was about a gay couple who wants to have a baby and their single friend, Kristen Wiig who also wants to have a baby so they give her their sperm. There is also a neighborhood homeless man who torments the three of them. This film was extremely well done and I hope to see it again in the near future.

The last Sundance film I saw was Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl. This was the film that won the Audience award and the Grand Jury award for US Dramatic Competition. This was a film that incorporated comedy into a dark story of a girl dying of cancer in a very respectful and true to life way. This film deserved to win every award it was given and I hope to see it distributed in the mainstream market. Although this film has a very independent feel with the inclusion of animation, comedy, and tragedy, I believe that this film has the potential to be a favorite movie in many households across the nation.

Sundance was such an amazing experience and I would not trade it for anything in the world. I have never been this exhausted in my life, but I would do it all over again if I could and hope to again in the future.

But for now, Sundance, out.

Leave a Reply

