We About To Get Lit

It’s 3:00 AM Monday morning. The third day has ended with a major development. More on that later.

I haven’t had a lot of success at Sundance thus far. The waitlists are shady, and the celebrities are difficult to pin down. I’m not the kind of guy who is really willing to make someone stop so I can take a picture with them. I know they don’t usually want all the extra attention that comes with it…well, aside from Kim Kardashian, but I digress.

I did see my fair share of celebrities during the first three days. First there was Jason Mantzoukas (Rafi, from The League)–a solid first celebrity sighting. Then there was Kristen Wiig, Bob Odenkirk, and Cody Johns, who shook my hand (and probably stole my Fitbit!). So basically, nobody I can tell my mom about because they aren’t notable enough.

No movies were seen during the first 2 1/2 days, but then, finally, during Sunday evening, things started to turn around. I went to the box office at 6:40 in the morning to try and get good tickets, and it definitely worked. I got a ticket to 99 Homes (outstanding film, by the way) at the Eccles, at which the director of the film, Ramin Bahrani, who can be recognized from Life, Itself, gave a great Q&A session. He discussed Ebert’s influence on him (the film was dedicated to Ebert), and I got some great pictures of him.

Things had begun to turn around for me, but things were due to get even crazier…which brings me to now…

Morgan and I are sitting outside the box office right now, waiting for it to open in 5 hours because I am ready to see three Eccles premiers tomorrow night. I spent 45 minutes convincing her to come with me. It’s freezing, it’s uncomfortable, it’s tiring, but it’s 100% worth it if we get into the celebrity-infused premiers of Monday night. We’re second in line. I have very high hopes. The first few days were cool, but the next few are about to be next level. It’s time to turn up, Sundance!

Leave a Reply

