Immersion into Sundance Culture

As cheesy as it may seem–and if someone told me this a few weeks ago, I probably wouldn’t believe them– but there is a particular buzz going around Park City that I can’t quite describe. Although it is only day 2, Sundance has deprived me of sleep, cracked my ears from the cold, and challenged the way I perceive film and the entertainment industry.  There is something magical about having a film festival in the snow, at a ski resort, in what seems like a small town. The Sundance Film Festival is ironic in that the festival shares a similar quality to Hollywood, a small town where everyone seems to know everyone and the latest buzz that follows key players and their projects.

Upon arrival, I immediately downloaded the Sundance 2015 app on my iPhone.  From there on I was obsessed with the showtimes and premieres of the upcoming and anticipated films of the festival.  I am engulfed and overtaken with the obsession of waitlisting films, which consists of literally counting down the seconds exactly 2 hours before a film releases a specific number of positions to purchases the last available tickets.  Along with the process of waitlisting nearly sold out films; of course, I learned a valuable lesson in enduring let down.  My first couple of waitlist attempts were complete failures, not only did I not get into the films I wanted, I didn’t even get competitive positions on the waitlist!  I felt left out and worried.  Even though it was only the first day, I felt that I needed to watch a movie–after all, this is why I came to the festival, right?

A few failed attempts later, I finally got my hands on tickets to Sam Klemke’s Time Machine, directed by Mattew Bate.  The film was unique, in that it was all self-shot material from 1977 to present day shot by a man named Sam Klemke. Because I don’t want to spoil the movie I won’t share any more details other than that it was a refreshing reminder of what it means to be human: vulnerable, imperfect, and alive with questions, hopes, and fears for the future.  Since Sam Klemke’s Time Machine,  I haven’t looked back.  I have been engulfed by Sundance Culture; sleep deprived, movie obsessed, trying to see as many films as I can in this short time that I have here.

